The Congress


Agenda Organizing Committee Contact Us

        Founding: CAS was founded in Beijing on 1st November 1949 on the basis of the former Academia Sinica (Central Academy of Sciences) and Peiping Academy of Sciences.

        Status: CAS is a leading academic institution and comprehensive research and development center in natural science, technological science and high-tech innovation in China.

        President: Prof. Dr-Ing Lu Yongxiang

        Orgainzation: Under CAS there are five Academic Divisions,108 scientific research institutes, over 200 science and technology enterprises,and more than 20 supporting units including one university, one graduate school and five documentation and information centers. They are distributed over various parts of the country. 12 branches of CAS were established in Shanghai, Nanjing, Hefei, Changchun, Shenyang, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Kunming, Xi'an, Lanzhou and Xinjiang.

        Staff: CAS has a total staff of over 58,000, of whom 39,000 are scientific personnel according to 2000 figures.

        Women Employees: According to 2000 statistics, the academy has more than 20,000 women employees, accounting for about 34% of the total, including more than 500 women research professors, making up 11.6% of the total,and 3,243 women associate research professors, or 28% of the total.

        Organization Chart:

President Vice Presidents Secretary -General Vice Secretaries-General Bureau of Basic Science General Office General Office of Academic Divisions |Bureau of Life Sciences & Biotechnology| Bureau of Science and Technology for Resources and the Environment Bureau of High-Technology Research and Development Bureau of Hi-tech Industry Development  Bureau of Science & Technology Policies  The Bureau of Comprehensive Planning Bureau of Capital Construction Bureau of International Cooperation Bureau of Personnel and Education Bureau of Supervision and Auditing  Bureau of Veteran Carders Research Institutions Educational  Institutions High-Tech Enterprises Division of Ma thematics and physics Division of Chemistry Division of Biology Division of Earth Science Division of Technoligical Sciences

5th General Assembly of AASA Bureau of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Sciences

52 Sanlihe Rd., Beijing, 100864, China

Tel: 86-10-68597246  Fax: 86-10-68511095
Email: hyzhao@cashq.ac.cn